RSVP: Which box will you check? 

Christmas felt like it kind of snuck up on me this year. Is it just me or does it feel like time goes faster these days? We have had a great Christmas spent with family, and filled with great food and lots of fun.

Oh, and one magical trip to Disney World, which I will share about in another blog in the next few days, so stay tuned for that. I hope you all have had a wonderful holiday season filled with all things good.

The past few weeks have been eventful for me. Life changing even.
I made mention in my last few posts that God was repeatedly calling me out of my comfort zone this year.

First, with deciding to give my broken marriage another chance. Then, with sharing my life with the world in this blog.

Then with public speaking.

And then…

I quit my job.
It still feels weird to say it.
But I’d been feeling the pull for a while now. I knew the time was coming. And although I knew in my heart it was what God was leading me to do, it was still a little scary. And bittersweet.

I’d been there for over 20 years. I started there at the age of 17. Moved away when Jeff joined the military and then went back to work there when we came home several years later.

I’ve spent basically my entire adult life with these people. They’re my people. They’re my family, and it was with a combination of a heavy heart and a hopeful and expectant spirit that I left them.

So with complete trust that what He had planned for me was good, I have taken several big steps out of my comfort zones this year.
Outside of the walls I’d built around myself, around my life.

And each time , I’ve found goodness waiting for me there.

There is goodness in my marriage and in the person Jeff has become.
There is goodness in this blog and in the people all over the world that read it and find hope in it.
There is goodness in overcoming my fear of public speaking and in the opportunity to share what God has done in our lives.
And there is goodness in the new job I will start in the new year, where I will not only get to work with my sisters, but with a whole group of people that I already know and love.
Sometimes, the comfort zone is exactly where we are supposed to be. But the time may come where you’ll hear Him telling you that it’s time for a change.
We all fear change. And we all get into routines, and fall into this illusion that things will always be this way. And we get comfortable. And if we aren’t really careful, and really paying attention, we can become so accustomed and contented with where we are and how things are that we become complacent.
And so when opportunities arise, we ignore them. Because we are pretty comfy where we are. Because we feel safe where we are.

Happy? Sure.

Sure we are happy. Because we are comfortable, right? Because it’s scary to do things differently than what you’re used to. So we stay in our comfy little comfort zones, but we hear that still small voice whispering , “There’s more. There’s so much more. Step out here into the water and see the wonders beyond your walls.”

But we ignore it.

Because we are scared.

Because although we may not be completely fulfilled where we are, at least we know what to expect if we stay here.

But out there… what if we make the wrong decision? What if we take the wrong path?
I get it. I really, really get it.
But I’ve learned a few things this year.
First, one day, life WILL kick you swiftly and surely out of that comfort zone in one way or another. Because stuff happens.
Like it or not, change is inevitable.

And the truth is, even when the change that comes is bad, it’s important. And it’s even beneficial. Because change brings growth. And growth brings fruit. And the fruit it produces is where the good stuff is found.

Second, wherever life kicks you, God is already there to catch you.

He’s. Already. There.

And He isn’t scrambling to figure out how to fix your big mess. He’s already gone before you and made a way. All you have to do is keep your eyes on Him and follow.

And third, sometimes life doesn’t kick you out of your comfort zone, but instead, God INVITES you out of your comfort zone.
And as with any invitation , you have a choice to make.

You can RSVP yes, or you can RSVP no.
Yep, you can say no to God. You sure can. And you can stay right there. Right where you are. And things may stay the same. You’ll continue to wake up, go about your life, do all the same things you have always done. And life will be good. It will be just fine.
It will be exactly what it always was. Maybe not extraordinary. But good. And you’ll be comfy. You’ll never know what’s outside those walls. You’ll never know what you might be missing. But that’s ok. If that’s what you decide to choose.

Or you can say yes.
And let’s just be honest. Even though you’ve chosen to accept the invitation, you will wake up, freak the freak out for a bit and question if you are making the right choices or if you’ve absolutely LOST YOUR EVER LOVING MIND.

But then, you’ll remember that tug on your heart. That whisper in your spirit.
“Follow me. I’ll show you the way.”

And then watch the goodness unfold. Watch Him bring things into your life that you never imagined. Watch Him turn your mess into a miracle. Watch Him pour out blessings over you.
Watch your life become something extraordinary.

I’ve returned my RSVP.

I want to see the wonders that exist beyond my walls.

Which box will you check?
Amy Thurston Gordy

Author: notmystorysite

Contact:acgordy91@gmail.com

1 thought on “RSVP: Which box will you check? ”

Leave a Reply

